Skip to main content

Stockholm University Professor Christina Rudén is the Chairman of the prestigious Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris

By 17 April, 2023April 25th, 2023No Comments

Professor Christina Rudén, is a highly respected expert in regulatory toxicology and risk assessment at the Department of Environmental Science at Stockholm University. With her expertise in science to policy, and how research contributes to benefits for society, Rudén brings an important perspective to the Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris nomination committee. 

– It is an honor and a joy to be the chairman of the nomination committee for Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris. It is a very fine prize for a very worthy cause, in particular as it awards science and other actions that contribute to actual improvements in the environment, says Christina Rudén.

Professor Rudén has an impressive track record of research and advocacy related to environmental issues, including her work on processes to identify and assess the risks of chemicals in the environment, developing strategies for sustainable chemical management, and advocating for evidence-based policy decisions to protect the Baltic Sea ecosystem. Rudén believes that the Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris is an important part in the development of the Baltic Sea environment, as it will inspire further research for the region.

– In some areas the Baltic Sea is slowly recovering, but in others much more needs to be done. This means that we cannot stop developing the scientific arguments, and to push for actions to save this beautiful ecosystem. In 5-10 years from now, I hope we have new policies and practices in place to ensure the recovery of fish populations, their long-term survival, and a restoration of the biodiversity in the Baltic Sea, says Rudén.

The nomination period for Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris 2023 is open from 15 February to 15 May. Organizations, institutions, and individuals can send in nominations on the foundation’s website. Among the nominees, one winner will be appointed and receives SEK 3 million to continue their research for a healthier Baltic Sea.


This is the nomination committee of the Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris:

Professor Christina Rudén (Chairman), Department of Environmental Science, Stockholm University

Professor Anna-Stiina Heiskanen, Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE), Director of Freshwater Centre

Professor Inna Sokolova, Institute of Biological Sciences, University of Rostock

Professor Jan Marcin Węsławski, Institute of Oceanology Polish Academy of Sciences

Marie Berglund, member the Björn Carlsons Östersjöstiftelse (BalticSea2020)



Leave a Reply