Award ceremony 2023


The 2023 Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris was awarded at the Grand Hôtel in Stockholm September 26. The prize winners, Professor Jacob Carstensen and Professor Daniel Conley, received the prize from the Swedish Crown Princess Victoria during an award ceremony.

Bo Lehander, chairman of the board at the Björn Carlsons Östersjöstiftelse, opened the ceremony, followed by Professor Christina Rudén at Stockholm University and chairman of the nomination committee for the Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris. Professors Carstensen and Conley presented their research on eutrophication, water quality, hypoxia, and underlying biogeochemical processes in the Baltic Sea. An last but not least, the Minister of Climate and the Environment of Sweden, Romina Pourmokhtari, spoke about the state of the Baltic Sea.

The prize ceremony was followed by a seminar on solution-oriented research for a healthier sea that was hosted by the Björn Carlsons Baltic Fellows.

Photos from the ceremony