Skip to main content

Three million SEK awarded to the winners of Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris 2023

By 21 September, 2023No Comments

On September 26, the Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris for 2023 will be awarded to Professor Jacob Carstensen of Aarhus University and Professor Daniel Conley of Lund University. The prize will be awarded by H.R.H. Crown Princess Victoria at the Grand Hotel in Stockholm, where politicians, business leaders, researchers, and decision-makers will convene to discuss a healthier Baltic Sea.

Jacob Carstensen and Daniel Conley are awarded for playing critical roles in shaping key research on eutrophication, water quality, hypoxia, and underlying biogeochemical processes in the Baltic Sea. Through groundbreaking collaboration, Carstensen and Conley have combined expertise from different fields, and thus, their research has transformed, developed and broadened this field of research. 

The prize ceremony for the Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris will take place on Tuesday, September 26, at the Grand Hotel in Stockholm. H.R.H. Crown Princess Victoria will present the award to this year’s laureates, who will not only receive a diploma but also a sum of SEK three million. The ceremony will be attended by, among others, the Minister of Climate and the Environment, Romina Pourmokhtari, along with researchers from the Baltic Sea countries, politicians, ambassadors, business representatives, and organizations dedicated to the Baltic Sea.

Following the prize ceremony, there will be a seminar led by Björn Carlsons Baltic Fellows. The seminar’s theme is “Solution-oriented Research for a Healthier Sea,” and it will discuss the topic from various perspectives. The Björn Carlsons Baltic Fellows was initiated in 2023 and consists of a network of 22 exclusively selected young researchers from the Baltic Sea countries. Their primary goal is to collaborate in raising awareness and demonstrating what needs to be done for a healthier Baltic Sea.

Recipients of Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris 2023

Jacob Carstensen, Professor in Marine System Management
Department of Ecoscience, Aarhus University, Denmark
Phone: +45 87 15 85 96

Daniel Conley, Professor in Biogeochemistry, in particular aquatic and marine systems
Department of Geology, Lund University, Sweden

Phone: +46 46 222 04 49

About the Björn Carlsons Östersjöstiftelse and the Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris

Björn Carlsons Östersjöpris (i.e. Baltic Sea Prize) was established in 2021 by Björn Carlsons Östersjöstiftelse (BalticSea2020) – an annual prize awarded to a researcher or other person who has made valuable contributions to the Baltic Sea’s environment. With a prize sum of SEK 3 million, the foundation’s hope is that the award will create commitment to the Baltic Sea and inspire further work for a healthier sea. From 2005 to 2020, the foundation allocated grants totalling 650 million for research and applied projects for the Baltic Sea.

Press contact: Amanda Bjursten, +46 70 837 14 30,




Leave a Reply